News
  • Grace Bench Sparks Win in First Game of Road Trip

    January 9, 2014, Portland, Oregon – After having their flight canceled on Wednesday, the Tigers left Grace at 6:15 am Thursday morning, caught a bus at Gerald R. Ford airport in Grand Rapids at 7 am, and made a three and a half hour bus ride to O’Hare airport in Chicago. They ate a quick lunch and then spent about five hours on a plane to Portland, arriving about three hours before the tip-off with Portland Bible College. 


    The Tigers started sluggishly as Portland jumped out to a five point lead on some hot three point shooting. But when Coach Bailey made a five for five substitution on his first rotation the Tiger bench changed the momentum and Grace finished the half with the lead, 38-30.

    The second half was all Grace as the Tigers scored the first seven points of the second half and Bailey gave plenty of playing time to every Tiger. Paul TenHarmsel, with 16 points, and Luke McKian, with 15 points, came off the bench to lead the Tiger scoring. Other stats were not available at the time of this writing but the win was a total team effort. “I didn’t feel like we played our best to start the game,” said Bailey, “but we did play hard. We’re glad to have the win and get some rest for our two remaining games out here.”
    Grace will play Multnomah University Friday night at 7 pm PST (10 pm EST) and the game will be webcast by Multnomah. 

    The link to watch can be found here:  Multnomah Live Basketball Feed

    Saturday’s game with West Coast Baptist College has a time change. The game will start at 5 pm PST (8 pm EST).