Directory

Erin Anderson

Erin Anderson

Director of Enrollment, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 550-1670

Email: eanderson@gbcol.edu

Amie Anderson

Amie Anderson

Academic Dean, Adult Programs

Phone: (616) 530-7752 x452

Email: aanderson@gbcol.edu

Shaelyn Baas

Shaelyn Baas

Registrar, Adult Programs

Phone: (616) 264-6656

Email: sbaas@gbcol.edu

Gary Bailey

Gary Bailey

Athletic Director, Men's Basketball Coach

Phone: (616) 538-7230

Email: gbailey@gbcol.edu

Briana Bailey

Briana Bailey

Enrollment Operations Assistant

Phone: (616) 261-8571

Email: bbailey@gbcol.edu

Susan Bauer

Susan Bauer

Marketing and PR Coodinator

Phone: (616) 264-6662

Email: sbauer@gbcol.edu

Kyle Bohl

Kyle Bohl

Associate VP for Community Life and Dean of Students

Phone: (616) 261-8527

Email: kbohl@gbcol.edu

Amy Bolkcom

Amy Bolkcom

Senior Enrollment Specialist

Phone: 1-800-968-1887 Ext 248

Email: abolkcom@gbcol.edu

Kelli Bossick

Kelli Bossick

Career Services Coordinator

Phone: (616) 951-3023

Email: kbossick@gbcol.edu

Austin Bouman

Austin Bouman

Assistant Student Account Specialist

Phone: (616) 264-6666

Email: abouman@gbcol.edu

Jeffery Brodrick

Jeffrey Brodrick

Director of Library Services

Phone: (616) 261-8575

Email: jbrodrick@gbcol.edu

Ann Brown

Ann Brown

Grace Dining Services

Phone: N/A

Email: abrown@gbcol.edu

Dan Bryska

Dan Bryska

Accounting Specialist

Phone: (616) 530-7758

Email: dbryska@gbcol.edu

Jason Carman

Jason Carman

Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 240-3531

Email: jcarman@gbcol.edu

Kari Davis

Kari Davis

Housekeeping and Facility Usage Coordinator

Phone: (616) 261-8530 x236

Email: kdavis@gbcol.edu

Will Davis

Will Davis

Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 260-7133

Email: wdavis@gbcol.edu

Peter DeBoer

Peter DeBoer

Donor Relations Specialist

Phone: (616) 264-6668

Email: pdeboer@gbcol.edu

Adam Doremus

Adam Doremus

Academic Advisor, Adult Programs

Phone: (616) 710-0990

Email: adoremus@gbcol.edu

Erin Ewald

Erin Ewald

Registrar Records Assistant , Adult Programs

Phone: 616-264-6656

Email: eewald@gbcol.edu

Jody Ferguson

Jody Ferguson

Financial Aid Specialist

Phone: (616) 264-6651

Email: jferguson@gbcol.edu

Jim Gamble

Jim Gamble

Campus Ministries Coordinator

Phone: (616) 261-2694

Email: jgamble@gbcol.edu

Holly Haney

Holly Haney

Community Life Intern

Phone: (616) 430-6926

Email: hhaney@gbcol.edu

Madison Hetzler

Madison Hetzler

Senior Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 258-0772

Email: mhetzler@gbcol.edu

Steve Hilbrands

Steve Hilbrands

Director of Funds Development

Phone: (616) 261-8565

Email: shilbrands@gbcol.edu

Linda Holton

Linda Holton

Assistant Registrar

Phone: (616) 530-7745

Email: lholton@gbcol.edu

Kayleigh Holton

Kayleigh Holton

Database Coordinator and Development Assistant

Phone: (616) 530-7756

Email: kholton@gbcol.edu

Erinn Huebner

Erinn Huebner

Online Library Services Coordinator

Phone: (616) 264-6660

Email: ehuebner@gbcol.edu

Ashley Huisman

Ashley Huisman

Financial Aid Specialist / Academic Support Services Coordinator

Phone: (616) 261-1564

Email: ahuisman@gbcol.edu

Sarah Hyer

Sarah McGill

Financial Aid Specialist

Phone: 6162618577 x 242

Email: shyer@gbcol.edu

Karlion Jackson

Karlion Jackson

Community Life Intern

Phone: (616) 430-4154

Email: kjackson@gbcol.edu

Cory Jamieson

Cory Jamieson

Asst. Athletic Director/S.I.D.

Phone: (616) 538-1770

Email: cjamieson@gbcol.edu

Nate Johnson

Nate Johnson

Director of Maintenance

Phone: (616) 538-3010

Email: njohnson@gbcol.edu

Becky Karsten

Becky Karsten

Community Life Assistant/ Women's Volleyball Head Coach

Phone: (616) 530-7757

Email: bkarsten@gbcol.edu

Mark Kirsch

Mark Kirsch

Senior Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 250-7600

Email: mkirsch@gbcol.edu

Sherea Lacy

Sherea Lacy

Associate VP of Talent Management

Phone: (616) 264-6650

Email: slacy@gbcol.edu

Mark Love

Mark Love

Director of Information Technology

Phone: (616) 261-8588

Email: mlove@gbcol.edu

Yolanda Mendez

Yolanda Mendez

Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 970-6984

Email: ymendez@gbcol.edu

Lizz Niles

Lizz Niles

Assistant Director of Undergraduate Enrollment Operations

Phone: (616) 261-8571

Email: lniles@gbcol.edu

Brittany Pallaria

Brittany Pallaria

Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 260-8772

Email: bpallaria@gbcol.edu

Megan Patten

Megan Patten

Financial Aid Specialist

Phone: (616) 261-8579

Email: mpatten@gbcol.edu

Jim Peters

Jim Peters

Information Technology Specialist

Phone: (616) 261-8563

Email: jpeters@gbcol.edu

Ryan Phillips

Ryan Phillips

Associate Director of Maintenance

Phone: (616) 745-2222

Email: rphillips@gbcol.edu

Rick Pilieci

Rick Pilieci

Campus Pastor

Phone: (616) 264-6665

Email: rpilieci@gbcol.edu

Kim Pilieci

Kim Pilieci

Provost

Phone: (616) 264-6665

Email: kpilieci@gbcol.edu

Destiny Porter

Destiny Porter

Enrollment Specialist

Phone: (616) 264-6654

Email: dporter@gbcol.edu

Kurt Postma

Kurt Postma

Director of Financial Aid

Phone: (616) 261-8557

Email: kpostma@gbcol.edu

Juli Priolo

Juli Priolo

Alumni Coordinator

Phone: (616) 261-8559

Email: jpriolo@gbcol.edu

Paul Ramesh

Paul Ramesh

Assistant Registrar, Adult Programs

Phone: (616) 261-8576

Email: pramesh@gbcol.edu

Rich Renzema

Rich Renzema

Women's Basketball Coach

Phone: N/A

Email: rrenzma@gbcol.edu

Jose Rey

Jose Rey

Senior Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 240-1523

Email: jrey@gbcol.edu

Dawn Rodgers Defouw

Dawn Rodgers-Defouw

Counselor and Director of Academic Support

A.A. General , Grace Bible College
B.S. Health Communication, Grand Valley State University
M.A. Professional Counseling, Liberty University
Certificate in Death and Grief Studies, Colorado State University
Licensed Professional Counselor,  State of Michigan

Dawn has been with Grace Bible College since 2010 and is the primary therapist for the college.  She facilitates academic support services for the college. Dawn is interested in the biological, psychological, social and spiritual well-being of individuals.  Her desire is that individuals would see themselves as God sees them: individuals of great worth.  God created us to be thinking beings, and we tend to behave the way we think.  By approaching counseling from a cognitive-behavioral perspective, she hopes to help individuals see where thinking errors impact the way they behave.  In response she hopes to help clients correct thinking errors and align their thoughts with the truth of scripture.  For we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14).

Dawn’s passion is helping individuals navigate the journey of grief.  Dawn is a GriefShare facilitator at several local churches.

Phone: (616) 264-6653

Email: drodgers@gbcol.edu

Darlene Ruhl

Darlene Ruhl

Senior Enrollment Advisor, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 745-8673

Email: druhl@gbcol.edu

Tim Rumley

Tim Rumley

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Studies / Director of Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness

Phone: (616) 264-6667

Email: trumley@gbcol.edu

Jake Schafer

Jacob Schafer

Enrollment Specialist

Phone: (616) 264-6652

Email: jschafer@gbcol.edu

Brian Sherstad

Brian Sherstad

Executive Vice President

Phone: (616) 261-8572

Email: bsherstad@gbcol.edu

Zak Sorensen

Zak Sorensen

Associate VP of Marketing

Phone: (616) 530-7755

Email: zsorensen@gbcol.edu

John Sprague

John Sprague

Director of Food Service

Phone: (616) 538-6870

Email: jsprague@gbcol.edu

Joyce Storms

Joyce Storms

Executive Assistant to the President

Phone: (616) 261-8573

Email: jstorms@gbcol.edu

Hilary Vegh

Hilary Vegh

Enrollment Specialist

Phone: (616) 261-8554

Email: hvegh@gbcol.edu

Doug Vriesman

Doug Vriesman

VP of Finance & Business Services

Phone: (616) 261-1877

Email: dvriesman@gbcol.edu

Beverly Wallace

Beverly Wallace

Accounting Secretary

Phone: (616) 261-8560

Email: bwallace@gbcol.edu

Josie Williams

Josie Williams

Community Life Intern

Phone: (616) 260-4939

Email: jnwilliams@gbcol.edu

Josh Williams

Josh Williams

Director of Enrollment, Adult & Graduate Programs

Phone: (616) 828-8804

Email: jwilliams@gbcol.edu

Becca Zuber

Becca Zuber

Graduate Studies Specialist

Phone: (616) 264-6661

Email: bzuber@gbcol.edu

Kayleen Bobbitt

Kayleen Bobbitt

Assistant Professor of Music

Phone: (616) 261-8555

Email: kbobbitt@gbcol.edu

Gerald Browning

Gerald Browning

English Faculty

Phone: N/A

Email: gbrowning@gbcol.edu

Mark Carroll

Mark Carroll

Professor of Youth Ministry

Phone: (616) 261-8567

Email: mcarroll@gbcol.edu

Matthew DeYoung

Matthew DeYoung

Assistant Professor of Business

Phone: N/A

Email: mdeyoung@gbcol.edu

Wayne Downing

Wayne Downing

Faculty / Associate Chair, Business Department

Phone: (616) 987-6600

Email: wdowning@gbcol.edu

Sherita Edwards Barnes

Sherita Edwards-Barnes

Adjunct Professor of Human Services

B.S.W. Norfolk State University
M.A. (Biblical Studies), Program, Grand Rapids Theological Seminary
M.S.W., Community Development, Norfolk State University

Sherita is an Adjunct Professor of Human Services at Grace Bible College.  She currently attends Grand Rapids Theological Seminary where she is working towards a Master of Arts in Biblical Studies degree. Upon finishing her schooling in 2016, she plans to enroll in a Doctor of Ministry (D.Min.) degree program.

Prior to working at Grace, she spent almost ten years working as a Faith-Based Community Organizer in Kalamazoo, Michigan and Atlanta, Georgia.  She is passionate about helping to build healthy and vibrant communities by partnering with people of faith, civic organizations and small businesses to impact, influence, and bring transformation in the lives of others so that they can make a difference in their world through positive initiatives.

Sherita and her husband, Jedidah, both Pastor at Tachanuwnah International Church Ministries in Kentwood, Michigan.

Phil Holmes

Phil Holmes

Vocal Instructor

M.A. in Arts Administration, The University of Michigan, December 2013
M.M. Vocal Performance, The University of South Carolina, 2001
B.Mus. Vocal Performance, Bob Jones University, 1995
Certification in Somatic Voicework for Contemporary Commercial Vocal Pedagogy – The LoVetri Method™, Shenandoah University, 2011

A native of Detroit, Michigan, Phil Holmes is an experienced performer, worship pastor, arts administrator, and voice instructor who is passionate about making a difference in the lives of all his students.  Recent appointments include a summer assignment in the Office of Development at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.  Currently residing in Allendale, Michigan with his wife Melody and his golden retriever Oliver, Mr. Holmes enjoys motorcycle riding, cooking, University of Michigan Athletics, meaningful conversation, and travel.

Phillip J. Long

Phillip J. Long

Professor of Bible and Biblical Languages

Phone: (616) 261-8568

Email: plong@gbcol.edu

Matthew Loverin

Matthew Loverin

Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

Phone: (616) 261-8566

Email: mhloverin@gbcol.edu

Pat McGillicuddy

Pat McGillicuddy

Assistant Professor of Bible and Theology

Timothy Peterson

Timothy Peterson

Vocal Instructor

David Price

David Price

Adjunct Professor of Human Services

B.A. Sociology, Calvin College
73rd Police Academy, Kalamazoo Law Enforcement Training Center Academy

David Price is a full-time, state licensed police officer serving the Village of Sparta, Michigan.  He has worked as peace officer since 2010 and is a graduate of Calvin College and the 73rd Kalamazoo Law Enforcement Training Center Academy.

David previously worked for the Village of Sand Lake, Michigan where he served as the Interim Chief of Police during a six-month period of department transition.

David is certified as a firearms instructor and control tactics instructor through the West Michigan Criminal Justice Training Consortium.  He is also certified as an instructor in the administration of preliminary breath alcohol tests (PBT).

Jacob Rodgers

Jacob Rodgers

Bible and Theology Faculty

Phone: (616) 264-6667

Email: jrodgers@gbcol.edu

Dawn Rodgers Defouw

Dawn Rodgers-Defouw

Counselor and Director of Academic Support

A.A. General , Grace Bible College
B.S. Health Communication, Grand Valley State University
M.A. Professional Counseling, Liberty University
Certificate in Death and Grief Studies, Colorado State University
Licensed Professional Counselor,  State of Michigan

Dawn has been with Grace Bible College since 2010 and is the primary therapist for the college.  She facilitates academic support services for the college. Dawn is interested in the biological, psychological, social and spiritual well-being of individuals.  Her desire is that individuals would see themselves as God sees them: individuals of great worth.  God created us to be thinking beings, and we tend to behave the way we think.  By approaching counseling from a cognitive-behavioral perspective, she hopes to help individuals see where thinking errors impact the way they behave.  In response she hopes to help clients correct thinking errors and align their thoughts with the truth of scripture.  For we are “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14).

Dawn’s passion is helping individuals navigate the journey of grief.  Dawn is a GriefShare facilitator at several local churches.

Phone: (616) 264-6653

Email: drodgers@gbcol.edu

Janice Schregardus

Janice Schregardus

Professor of Human Services

B.A. Sociology, Calvin College
M.A. Counseling, Michigan State University
Ph.D. Psychology, Walden University
Licensed Professional Counselor in the State of Michigan

Jan has been teaching at Grace Bible College for 15 years in the Human Services Department. She earned he M.A. in 1990 and her Ph.D. in 2007.

Her hobbies include leading Bible studies, reading (especially mysteries), and improving her computer skills.

Phone: (616) 261-8574

Email: jschregardus@gbcol.edu

J B Seeley

J B Seeley

Assistant Professor of English

Phone: (616) 261-8569

Email: jseeley@gbcol.edu

Scott Shaw

Scott Shaw

Professor of Human Services

SCOTT SHAW

B.R.E., Cornerstone University
M.T.S., Systematic Theology, Grand Rapids Baptist Seminary
M.A., Counseling, Cornerstone University
M.A., Emergency Mgt. & Homeland Security, Arizona State University
M.S.W., Grand Valley State University
D.Min., Conflict Management, Trinity Theological Seminary
Ph.D., Health Psychology/Behavioral Medicine, Northcentral University

Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC), State of Michigan
Licensed Master’s Social Worker (LMSW, Clinical & Macro), State of Michigan

Dr. Scott Shaw is Professor of Human Services at Grace Bible College. Scott was clinical supervisor & therapist at Lutheran Child & Family Service of Michigan, from 2000 to 2010. Previously, he worked for seven years at Hope Network Behavioral Health (Grand Rapids, MI), serving adults with chronic mental illness in various residential, clinical and administrative positions.  Scott is a graduate of the 38th Police Academy at Grand Valley State University, and has worked in local and county law enforcement.  He is nationally board certified in counseling (NCC), a Fellow of the American Psychotherapy Association, and a Certified Professional Empowerment Coach (CPEC) through the GBC Center for Empowerment Coaching.

Scott is a 3rd degree black belt and certified Taekwondo instructor (ATA) who leads the Grace Bible College Taekwondo Club. Scott also holds a 1st degree black belt in Shinsei Arnis jitsu (stick & knife) and has trained previously in Pukang Tang Soo Do, Aikido, Shorin Ryu Karate, Krav Maga and Pressure Point Control Tactics (PPCT). Scott has trained in PPCT’s basic subject control curriculum including GAGE and bladed-weapon defense, and is a certified Instructor of PPCT’s “SHARP” (Sexual Harassment and Rape Prevention) women’s self-defense curriculum, offered at Grace Bible College every semester.

Phone: (616) 530-7754

Email: sshaw@gbcol.edu

Pamela Sherstad

Pamela Sherstad

Assistant Professor of Communications

Cynthia Shine

Cynthia Shine

Adjunct Professor of Human Services

A.A. Social Welfare, Miami-Dade Community College
B.A. Religious Education, Grace Bible College
M.S. Criminal Justice, Grand Valley State University
Pursuing Ph.D., Walden University

Cynthia retired from Michigan Department of Corrections as a Manager for Parole/Probation, Correction Center, Electronic Monitoring, in Oceana, Lake, Mason, Ottawa and Muskegon County. She is also trained in Leadership and Diversity in National Institute of Corrections.

Cynthia worked as contracted instructor for past ten years, and is currently employed at Muskegon Community College for court ordered offenders classes on Values Clarification and Domestic Violence.Cynthia is an Adjunct Instructor for Grace Bible College and Baker College where she teaches courses in the Human Services and Communications division respectively.  She has been employed for the past four years as an Elementary Music teacher for Muskegon Christian and West Shore Elementary Schools.

Married to Pastor John Shyne, Jr, and serves as Christian Education Director and Sunday School teacher and Youth Leader and choir director.  I have five adult children and four grandchildren. My interests include music, gardening, jewelry making, and reading.

Linda Siler

Linda Siler

Registrar

Bea Sloothak

Bea Sloothaak

String Instructor

Bea Sloothaak is an adjunct professor of strings at GBC. She has completed coursework at Fort Wayne Bible College, Grand Rapids Community College, and an Associate of Arts at Grace Bible College. In addition to her role at Grace Bible College, she maintains a music studio where she provides string lessons for students of all ages.

Paul Sweet

Paul Sweet

Professor of Pastoral Ministry

Phone: (616) 261-8556

Email: psweet@gbcol.edu

Samuel Vinton

Samuel Vinton

Professor of Theology

Phone: N/A

Email: drsamvinton@gmail.com

Jason Werkema

Jason Werkema

Professor of Music

Phone: (616) 261-8532

Email: jwerkema@gbcol.edu

Mark Weymouth.

Mark Weymouth

Drum Instructor

Mark is a graduate of Drummers Collective in New York City where he had the opportunity to study with many top drummers including Mike Clark (Herbie Hancock) and Marvin “Smitty” Smith (Tonight Show). He also holds business degrees from Grand Valley State and Davenport Universities. Mark is currently a full-time freelance drummer in the West Michigan area. His home church is Resurrection Life Church in Grandville, but also serves other area ministries including Fair Haven and Hark Up. Mark has also played numerous dates around Michigan and Los Angeles with Ken Reynolds and can be found sharing the drum chair on his latest collaborative recording “Higher” (Reslife Worship). He has also served with other notable worship artists including John Chisum, Curt Coffield, Jared Anderson and Michael Gungor.Born and raised in the metro-Detroit area, Mark grew up on a variety of influences including Jazz, R&B, Funk, and Latin. He is excited to share his love and respect for all music and help guide his students on their musical journeys.